Is Trolli Halal?

is trolli halal

Trolli is a candy company with German roots that has been selling gummy candies, marshmallows, and soft licorice gums in more than 80 countries since 1948.

When it comes to candies it’s always tricky determining whether it is halal or haram. Is Trolli truly halal or forbidden in Islam? Let’s talk about what I learned when I looked up Trolli’s ingredients.

The Ferrara Candy Company, which owns Trolli, confirms that the gelatin used to produce their candy is made from pork. This clarifies why they do not have halal certification. Currently, there is no proof that Trolli candy is halal.

Is Trolli Halal?

Trolli lacks a halal certification. This indicates that there is a probability that the gelatin used in the sweets is not halal. Pork, beef, or any other type of meat can be used to make gelatin, but we can’t even guarantee that any meat was slaughtered according to Islamic law.

READ NEXT: Is Sugar Alcohol Halal? [What You Should Know]

Ingredients of Trolli Gummy Candy:

The main ingredients in Trolli candies are concentrated apple juice, corn syrup, sugar, gelatin, modified food starch, citric acid, modified food Sodium Citrate, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Corn Starch Tartaric Acid, Yellow 5 and Red 40.

Types of Gelatin

Some types of gelatin are of vegetable origin, and there is nothing wrong with using this or eating foods that contain it.

However, some forms of gelatin come from animals. Unless it can be proved that the animal has been slaughtered in accordance with Shariah, it will always be a doubt.

READ NEXT: List Of Halal Seafood

Fatwa on using Gelatin in Food and Medicine

It seems to be a complicated issue, and I’ve included a fatwa on it below. According to the Hadith below, it is preferable to leave the object of your doubt if you have any doubts because it is “better safe than sorry.”

The Prophet of Allah, peace and blessings be upon him, is said to have said:
“Verily, the lawful is clear and the unlawful is clear, and between the two of them are doubtful matters about which many people do not know. Thus, he who avoids doubtful matters clears himself in regard to his religion and his honor, and he who falls into doubtful matters will fall into the unlawful as the shepherd who pastures near a sanctuary, all but grazing therein. Verily, every king has a sanctum and the sanctum of Allah is His prohibitions. Verily, in the body is a piece of flesh which, if sound, the entire body is sound, and if corrupt, the entire body is corrupt. Truly, it is the heart.”

Sahih Bukhari 52, Sahih Muslim 1599

And here is the fatwa I mentioned earlier.


Are Trolli worms halal?

Not Halal. Pork gelatin is used in all of Ferrara Candy Company’s products. We found that the pork gelatin we currently use in our confections holds the product better than other gelatin varieties.

What are Trolli gummy worms made of?

Corn Syrup, Sugar, Gelatin, Modified Food Starch, Fumaric Acid, Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Calcium Lactate, Sodium Lactate, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Titanium Dioxide [Color], Yellow 5, Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1.

Do Twizzlers have gelatin?

Twizzlers in the flavors of strawberry, cherry, black licorice, Pull ‘n’ Peel, bites, twists, and nibs, as well as chocolate, are recognized as vegan-friendly candies because they don’t contain any animal products or gelatin.

Are gummy bears made out of pigs?

Gelatin and carnauba wax are two of the main components of gummy candies. Pig fat seems to be the type of animal fat traditionally used to make gelatin.

Final Thoughts

It’s really hard to say whether Trolli is halal or haram, as they don’t have a halal certificate. The candy companies usually use Gelatin which is normally made from Pork and that’s not allowed in Islam.

Hence in my findings, I did not find Trolli to be Halal. I guess it’s always better to leave it when you aren’t sure about something as I said earlier “better safe than sorry”.

And Allah knows best.

Similar Posts