Is Doritos Halal?

is doritos halal

If you’ve ever indulged in Doritos, you might have been shocked to learn that they are not entirely halal. There are many false beliefs regarding Doritos. Some individuals say that Doritos are unhealthy, while others claim that the chips were not halal since they included pork. Let’s find out.

Due to the presence of animal enzymes in the majority of their products, Doritos are not halal. Additionally, Doritos explicitly state that just two of their products, Doritos Bold BBQ and Doritos Sweet Chili Heat, do not include these enzymes.

Ingredients of Doritos

ingredients of doritos

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, And/or Sunflower Oil), Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Salt, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Whey, Monosodium Glutamate, Buttermilk, Romano Cheese (Part-skim Cow’s Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Whey Protein Concentrate, Onion Powder, Corn Flour, Natural Flavors.

READ NEXT: Is Duck Halal?

Fatwa On Doritos

fatwa on doritos

Shaykh Yusuf Badat contacted the Frito Lay Canada company and asked them about Doritos and the ingredients used to find out if it was halal or not. Here is what he says:

Jazakumullahu Khairan / Thank you for contacting the Mathabah. May Allah bless you for your concern regarding halal consumption.

In response to your concern, I contacted the Frito Lay Canada company by phone on Monday January 18, 2010 at around 10:10 am and spoke at length with the customer service representative. She stated that the cheese and whey in the ‘Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavoured Tortilla Chips’ are made from animal by products, namely beef and pork.

In accordance to the above information provided by the company, the ‘Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavoured Tortilla Chips’ will not be suitable for Muslim consumption. The product is haram (non halal/ prohibited) as per Islamic dietary laws.

We have been informed in 2020, that Frito Lay Canada has updated some of their products with ingredients that may not contain pork. If that is the case, the products will be halal suitable.

The consumption of pork, non zabiha meats and their by products are strictly prohibited in Islam.

“So eat of that (meat) upon which Allah’s name has been mentioned, if you are believers in His verses” (Holy Quran 6:118)

“He has forbidden you only the Maitah (dead animals), and blood, and the flesh of swine, and that which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allah (or has been slaughtered for idols, on which Allah’s Name has not been mentioned while slaughtering). But if one is forced by necessity without wilful disobedience nor transgressing due limits, then there is no sin on him. Truly, Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful” (Holy Quran 2:173)

Jabir RA reported, “Allah’s Messenger PBUH said: “That flesh will not enter Paradise which has grown from Haram, and all that flesh which has grown from Haram, the fire (of hell) is more worthy of it. “

(Ahmed, Darimi, Baihaqi)

And Allah Knows Best”


Shaykh Yusuf Badat also added a Quranic verse that states eat only from the halal lawful things which God has provided. This statement is for Muslims and they should take it seriously.

In his findings, he said that he didn’t find Doritos to be halal.

READ NEXT: Is Wine Vinegar Halal?

Animal Enzymes In Doritos

Animal enzymes are a popular food additive extracted from the stomach, pancreas, and other parts of the animal and can be used in many different foods to improve their texture and taste.

Animals that have been slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic law are considered halal. We are aware that these animals were not slaughtered as it’s not a practice in non-Muslim countries.

Animal enzymes extracted from them will likewise be haram or prohibited for Muslims if the animal is.

Rennet is also extracted from the stomachs of animals mostly from pigs. In Islam, eating pork is forbidden. No matter what, Muslims should abstain from any pig products. This makes the rennet, which is used to flavor cheese powder, haram.

READ NEXT: Are Marshmallows Halal?

Do Doritos Have Pork?

The Doritos chips contain cheese, another animal product. The majority of the rennet needed to manufacture the cheese is taken from pork. The majority of the time, rennet is created by extracting digestive enzymes from pork after they have been killed.

Frito Lays themselves say that only two of their products don’t contain animal enzymes which might be pork-free. These products are Doritos Bold BBQ and Doritos Sweet Chili Heat.

Apart from these two all Doritos products include pork-based animal enzymes making Doritos not halal.

Do Doritos Have Gelatin?

Gelatin is another product that is animal-based and Muslims should tend to stay away from haram gelatin which comes from haram animals.

This is a misconception as chips don’t include gelatin. Gelatin is usually used in the manufacturing of gummies and candies. Doritos don’t contain gelatin.

READ NEXT: Is Catfish Halal?

Which Doritos Are Halal?

If you are really interested in Doritos I have found their halal product as well.

Purple Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos don’t contain any animal enzymes in them making them halal.

You can find other products as well by going through all the ingredients or just go to this for halal Doritos products.


Is Ranch-Flavored Doritos Halal?

The cheese in ranch-flavored Doritos comes from animals that Muslims are particularly prohibited from eating according to the Quran making them not halal.

Is Nacho Cheese Doritos Halal?

Its ingredients include cheese, milk, whey, and buttermilk. Because of the whey and cheese present, it is clear that nacho cheese Doritos are not halal.

Is Doritos Vegan?

Most products of Doritos are not vegan as they contain cheese and other seasonings from animal enzymes.

Does Doritos have alcohol?

One of the flavorings for Chilli Heatwave Doritos is soy sauce. It has very little amounts of alcohol because it is a fermented product. Additionally, some goods contain trace levels of ethanol as a flavor enhancer. Do check the ingredients first before consuming any Doritos product.

READ NEXT: Is Vegan Food Halal? [Beware – Not Always!]

Final Thoughts

Do your homework, conduct your research, and then you can decide whether Doritos are acceptable or not for you to eat. I’ve listed every reason, such as pork and animal enzymes, that prevents Doritos products from being halal.

My recommendation is to completely avoid haram foods. I have listed all of the halal substitutes that might be more appropriate.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts