Is Monster Energy Drink Halal?

monster energy drinks

Energy drinks are widespread these days. Their consumption among teenagers is on the rise as they drink them nonstop every day. Monster is the other well-known brand of energy drink after Red Bull. However, is Monster energy drink halal?

With the exception of a few Monster drink flavors that contain the E210 component, the majority of Monster energy drinks are considered halal because they do not contain any haram ingredients that Muslims are not allowed to consume.

Find out which Monster flavors are not halal by reading more.

Is Monster Drink Halal?

monster drink juice

On the question of whether Monster drinks are halal Shaykh Shafiur Rahman says:

“In principle, food (except meat) and drinks generally are all deemed to be permissible in the first instance unless it is something that has been prohibited by shari’a because Allah explained to us those things that are haram.
I cannot see any haram ingredients in the list and therefore it will be permissible to drink. However, as with all food and drinks we should try to avoid them in quantities and regularity that may cause clear harm to our health.”


When we are analyzing any drink we always search for the ingredients used to manufacture the product. Any haram ingredient (forbidden in Islam) if found in the drink will make the product haram.

Energy drinks can include many ingredients which can be haram for Muslims. Taurine is one of them. Taurine can come from animals or produce synthetically as well. If Taurine comes from animals we need to make sure the animal is halal. Taurine from animals is another long discussion but not important for now.

Taurine used in Monster energy drinks is produced synthetically. Our main ingredient Taurine is now off the list and is halal for Muslims.

If you contact Monster and ask them directly about their products being halal or not they will tell you that they are not halal certified. This means that no Islamic organization has given their products the halal status certificate. This does not mean that the products are not halal.

We need to check every other ingredient apart from Taurine in Monster drinks to find out the real answer.

READ NEXT: Are Jelly Belly Beans Halal?

Ingredients Of Monster Energy Drinks

ingredients of monster drink

All energy drinks contain natural flavors, taurine, carbonated water, and sugar.

Ingredients in Monster energy drink include:

  • Natural flavors
  • Carbonated water
  • Sucrose
  • Glucose
  • Citric acid
  • Taurine
  • Panax ginseng root extract
  • Sodium citrate
  • Caffeine, L-carnitine, and L-tartrate
  • Maltodextrin, riboflavin, and cyanocobalamin
  • Niacinamide, sorbic acid, benzoic acid
  • Guarana seed extract, pyridoxine hydrochloride, sucralose, sodium chloride
  • Glycine max glucuronolactone, inositol, pyridoxine hydrochloride

I have none of the ingredients to be haram or prohibited for Muslims. Taurine is the problem usually as it is derived from animals but in this case Taurine is synthetic.

Most of the Monster energy drinks are halal except only a few which contain E120.

READ NEXT: Is Rabbit Halal?

Which Monster Drinks Are Haram?

Most Monster energy drinks are vegan and allowed to be consumed by Muslims. Some of the flavors of Monster drinks include E120 which is not halal.

Following are the Monster flavors that Muslims are prohibited from consuming:

  • Monster Energy Ultra Red Drink (includes E120)
  • Monster Punch & Energy Drink (includes E120)
  • Monster Energy Ultra Red Drink (includes E120)

The female cochineal’s body and eggs contain the pigment E120, often known as carminic acid which is not allowed for Muslims. If you want to drink Monster drink I will highly suggest avoiding the above Monster drink flavors.

READ NEXT: Is Mozzarella Cheese Halal?


Is Monster Energy Drink Alcoholic?

No, none of the Monster energy drinks contain alcohol. It is totally alcohol-free.

Is Taurine in monster halal?

Taurine in Monster drinks is synthetically produced, animal-free and 100% halal.

Is Monster energy drink healthy?

Monster energy drinks are not considered healthy as they include high amounts of sugar which is a risk to your health.

Is Monster energy drink vegan?

Yes, most of their flavors are vegan except for some which include E120 or carminic acid. E120 comes from the female cochineal’s body and is not considered vegan. Make sure to read the ingredients and if E120 is found better to stay away if you are vegan.

READ NEXT: Is Tyson Chicken Halal?

Final Thoughts

Taurine, a substance found in Monster beverages, is made synthetically and contains no animal products. I did not discover any prohibited ingredients in Monster energy drinks. Some Monster drinks contain E120, often known as carminic acid, which is prohibited for Muslims. Other than those, every Monster beverage is halal and vegan.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts