Is Fermented Kimchi Halal?

is fermented kimchi halal

The traditional side dish kimchi, a major part of Korean cooking, is made from salted and fermented vegetables, mostly napa cabbage and Korean radishes, along with a variety of seasonings like chili powder, scallions, garlic, ginger, and jeotgal.

It’s usual to wonder if kimchi is halal because the fermentation process results in the production of alcohol.

Yes, Kimchi is halal. The relatively tiny amounts of alcohol released during the fermentation process are insufficient to make you drunk. Thus, eating kimchi is halal for Muslims.

Does Kimchi Contain Alcohol?

Kimchi is not made with any kind of alcohol. Kimchi is made from vegetables, salt, and water. Although the process of fermentation includes tiny amounts of alcohol that won’t make you drunk.

As a byproduct of different fermentation processes, alcohol is created. It is only present in trace amounts, and the majority of it evaporates or ferments into vinegar. Normal kimchi contains a small amount of alcohol.

READ NEXT: Is Kraft Mac And Cheese Halal?

Fermented Food Is Advised In Islam

Kimchi is one of the many types of fermented foods that are permitted in halal cuisine.

According to scholars, small amounts of intoxicating alcohol are acceptable. A fatwa issued by Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen on this subject states that a small amount of intoxicating alcohol is not prohibited.

Read More

The Muslims must have kefir, according to the Prophet of Islam. These foods, including yogurt and kefir, are said to be among the Prophet Muhammad’s favorites.

In the Quran surah Al Insaan verse 6

(That) is the water spring (in heaven) that Allah’s servants drink and they can shine it as well as possible.

Any food that is beneficial to the body and has no negative effects is permissible to eat according to Islamic law. Cheese, yogurt, and kefir all contain a lot of calcium, which is healthy to eat.

READ NEXT: Is Whey Protein Halal? [Quran And Fatwa]

Ingredients of Kimchi

Kimchi is frequently made with these ingredients:

  • Korean Radish
  • Napa Cabbage
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Spring Onion
  • Carrots
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Chilli Powder


Is Fermented Food Halal?

A microorganism must be involved in the fermentation process for the enzyme to mix perfectly with the food. That will alter the food’s ingredient composition. Usually, alcohol is produced in the fermentation process. If the amount of alcohol is tiny and won’t make you drunk, fermented food is halal.

Is Kimchi made from pork?

No, kimchi is made from a variety of vegetables and seasonings, with no meat or seafood products used in its production. In fact, kimchi manufacturers are required to state on their labels that “no pork products were included during fermentation”.

Can the halal status of kimchi change?

Kimchi’s halal status is subject to change. Sometimes, recipes are changed and ingredients are switched, resulting in a non-halal product. For instance, the finished product won’t be regarded as halal if you make your own kimchi at home and then add pork to it, which is prohibited by Islamic law.

Is cabbage kimchi halal?

Kimchi is halal because it is made from fermented vegetables. The amount of alcohol produced during fermentation is typically negligible.

Final Thoughts

Kimchi is halal, yes.

However, if you don’t want to be puzzled by all the various varieties of kimchi available, it’s best to stick with just one kind—green cabbage or Napa cabbage—and make sure it’s produced in accordance with Islamic law.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts