Is Kombucha Halal?

is kombucha halal

Despite the small amount of alcohol produced during the fermentation process, Muslims regard kombucha as halal. You could be wondering if alcohol is forbidden in any amount, but that is not true. In what sense is kombucha halal? Let’s find out.

Kombucha tea contains a very small amount of alcohol that does not cause intoxication, consuming it is not prohibited by Islamic law. Hence it is safe to say that Kombucha is halal.

Is Kombucha Halal?

Usually, Muslims have the concept that consuming alcohol is haram. When we study Hadith and Quran we find out that the Prophet of Allah, peace be upon him, had instructed Muslims to avoid all intoxicants.

The general principle being anything that gets you drunk in large amounts is haram in small amounts as well.

Abu Burda reported from his father that Abu Musa al-Ash‘ari said that the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) had sent him to Yemen and he asked the Prophet about (alcoholic) drinks which used to be prepared there. The Prophet said: “What are they?” Abu Musa said: ‘al-Bit’i and al-Mizr.’ I (the narrator) said to Abu Burda: ‘What is al-Bit’i?’ He said: ‘al-Bit is an alcoholic drink made from honey, and al-Mizr is an alcoholic drink made from barley.’ The Prophet said: “Every intoxicant is Haram.”

(Reported by al-Bukhari) (source)

In the case of Kombucha, the amount of alcohol present is very low, hence Kombucha is considered to be halal.

According to federal rules, store-bought kombucha must always contain less than 0.5 percent alcohol in order to be branded as non-alcoholic. This is comparable to the alcohol content of other fermented foods like yogurt, grape juice, bread, and vinegar.

Read More:

What is Kombucha?

The tea-based beverage kombucha has gained popularity recently due to its delicious flavor and numerous health advantages. Since it contains live cultures, organic acids, and immune-supporting antioxidants, it is a healthier alternative to sugary soft beverages.

Ingredients of Kombucha

  • Black Tea
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Fruit
  • Flavored Tea
  • Honey
  • Herbs

We discovered that there is nothing haram in it after analyzing the contents. Although Kombucha is a drink that is produced by fermentation. Alcohol is created during fermentation as a byproduct. This is concerning because alcohol is always seen as haram. As we discussed earlier that tiny amounts of alcohol are considered to be halal, and Kombucha is considered halal for Muslims.

READ NEXT: Is Starburst Halal?


Because fermentation was frequently the greatest way for long-term storage, fermented foods, and beverages used to be a key component of our diet.

Since the majority of fermented foods, such as yogurt, and pickles, only contain very little levels of ethanol, Islam allows them. Usually, Kombucha is vegan and doesn’t include any gelatin or pork.


Homebrewed kombucha has an alcohol content that can range from 3 to 5 %, which is comparable to a beer. This Kombucha isn’t suitable for Muslims as large quantities would result in intoxication.

Try to avoid homebrewed Kombucha.

READ NEXT: Is Root Beer Halal? [Revealed]


Is kombucha remedy halal?

All flavors of remedy Kombucha are halal.

Is there alcohol in kombucha?

Yes, usually below 0.5%, which won’t get you drunk. Hence Kombucha is halal.

How much alcohol is in kombucha?

It is approximately 0.5%.

Will kombucha get you drunk?

No, even if you consume a lot of kombuchas, it is unlikely that you would become intoxicated.

Final Thoughts

In my opinion, drinking Kombucha won’t get you drunk even in large amounts. Hence Kombucha is 100% halal.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts