Is Starburst Halal?

is starburst halal

The Wrigley Company makes soft taffy candies in the shape of boxes with fruit flavors under the brand name Starburst (previously known as Opal Fruits). [source]

Starburst is not certified as halal. Despite using whey that is suitable for vegetarians, they are unable to ensure that no alcohol was created during the production of their flavoring.

Ingredients Used To Make Starburst

I could not find any alcohol-related ingredients here.

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Fruit Juice from Concentrate (Apple, Lemon, Orange, Strawberry)
  • Citric Acid
  • Artificial and Natural Flavours
  • Colouring Agents
  • Dextrose is a type of sugar found naturally in some fruits and honey but can also be made from cornstarch.
  • Hydrogenated palm kernel oil or palm oil
  • Dextrin
  • Gelatin
  • Food starch-modified
  • Ascorbic acid (vitamin c)
  • Acacia
  • Titanium Dioxide
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Cornstarch-modified
  • Confectioner’s Glaze
  • Vanilla Extracts

Many of them, including ascorbic acid, dextrose, corn syrup, sugar, and dextrin, are halal. However, other substances, such as gelatin, are forbidden in Islam.

READ NEXT: Is Gluten Halal?

What Kind of Gelatin is in Starburst?

Pork products are not halal and are not permitted to be consumed in Islam, as many Muslims are aware. In order to move closer to determining whether Starburst is halal or not, I, therefore, have to determine whether the Gelatin used is made from pig or not.

I conducted some studies and discovered that beef is used to produce the gelatin used in Starburst.

Although the Gelatin used is not from Pork but still it comes from an animal that was probably not slaughtered, I assume that makes Starburst not halal.

Is Alcohol Present in Starburst?

The amount of alcohol found was not confirmed, and the alcohol levels appeared to be uncertain.

However, I did discover that Islamic scholars came to the opinion that drunkenness is what separates the two. A product is not halal and is not permitted to be consumed if it contains enough alcohol to get you intoxicated.

Alcohol present in Starburst in this instance is unimportant because there isn’t enough of it to make anyone intoxicated.

Some people won’t consume anything with even the slightest alcohol content, whether or not it makes them feel drunk. However, some people choose to consume foods that only have minute amounts of non-intoxicating alcohol.

I leave it to you depending on which school of thought you guys believe but I can say it’s better to be safe than sorry.

READ NEXT: Is Kombucha Halal?

Islamic Verdict About Halal and Haram

Muslims all across the world look to the Quran and the Sunnah for direction in living their lives in accordance with Islamic principles.

Allah (SWT), in Surah Al Baqarah, has clarified the halal and haram food for Muslims.

“He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.”

[Quran 2:173]

This verse of the Holy Quran declares that eating blood, swine (pig) flesh, and dead meat is forbidden. Furthermore, it is prohibited to sacrifice any halal animal to a deity other than Allah.

In the instance of Starburst, we are aware that the cattle used for the gelatin were likely not slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law. I, therefore, believe that the gelatin used will not be halal.


Do Starburst Have Gelatin?

In the US, gelatin is present in both Starburst Original Chews and Starburst Gummies. However, Starburst goods sold in the UK do not include gelatin.

What Type of Gelatin is in Starburst?

The majority of Starburst products contain beef-based gelatin. The gelatin in Starburst Gummies, however, comes from pork.

Is Starburst Gluten Free?

Gluten components are not present in any of the Starburst products. All Starburst products are therefore gluten-free.

Is Starburst Halal?

Is Starburst Halal?
In the United States, the components of Starburst products typically include beef or pork Gelatin. Therefore, Starburst is not Halal in the US.

Final Thoughts

Any product that contains haram ingredients is prohibited by the Quran and Sunnah, but products that have halal ingredients are considered to be halal. It is advisable to review a product’s ingredient list before making a final decision.

I found out that no alcohol product was involved in the making of Starburst but the gelatin used is from beef which was not probably slaughtered. Hence in my opinion Starburst is not halal.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts