Is Pepsi Halal?

is pepsi halal

One of the most popular drinks among Muslims is Pepsi. One may wonder whether Pepsi is halal or haram given that it is produced by non-Muslims.

According to Pepsi, the beverage lacks a halal certification. The absence of any alcoholic or forbidden animal ingredients makes Pepsi halal for Muslims.

Shaikh has answered it beautifully here:

Ingredients Of Pepsi

ingredients of pepsi

Checking a product’s ingredients is the best way to find out if it is halal or haram. I learned what ingredients are used in Pepsi.

  • Carbonated Water
  • Sugar
  • Colour (Caramel E150d)
  • Acid (Phosphoric Acid)
  • Flavorings (including Caffeine)


Pepsi doesn’t contain any alcoholic ingredients as some people have been saying. I tried to find any animal product as well but was unsuccessful. I can say that Pepsi doesn’t contain any haram ingredient in its production process and is totally halal to drink.

READ NEXT: Is Red Bull Halal?

Islamic Ruling On Pepsi

fatwa on pepsi

Mufti Waseem Khan from Darul Uloom Trinidad and Tobago says:

“Pepsi is halaal. There is no pectin in it, although pectin is also a halaal ingredient. The Matouks mauby is halaal. The other brands which have kola flavour contain a small amount of alcohol.



If you want to read a detailed answer on fizzy drinks read IslamQA.

These sources confirm that despite the high amounts of sugar present in Pepsi it is halal for Muslims. The reason is that no haram ingredient is found in it.

Scholars claim that the majority of the information they have is scattered reports that, despite citing some scientific data, do not prove that the drinks cause massive harm to the point where they should be prohibited.

READ NEXT: Are Fruit Loops Halal? [Ingredients]

Does Pepsi Has Alcohol

Inquiries concerning the French study that discovered alcohol in European Coke and Pepsi were flooding Muslim Consumer Group so they delivered unopened bottles of Coke, Pepsi, and 7 UP to the Northland lab so that it could conduct an alcohol test.

According to Northland Lab, there was less than 0.001%, or 10 PPM, of alcohol in Pepsi. It implies that alcohol wasn’t detected in Pepsi.

If at any point even if alcohol was involved in any of the production processes it’s not found in the final product.

Scholars agree that if the final product does not contain any traces of alcohol it is halal. The general rule states that anything which intoxicates in large amounts is haram in small amounts. Pepsi does not contain any alcohol and is 100% halal.

Does Pepsi Contain Pork

Pepsi drinks do not contain any pork-derived ingredients. In fact, no animal-derived ingredient is used in these drinks. I have tried different websites including Pepsi’s official site to find out any animal traces in Pepsi but was unsuccessful.

Despite not having a halal certificate I am certain that Pepsi is halal as it doesn’t contain any haram ingredient.

READ NEXT: Are Hersheys Kisses Halal?

Final Thoughts

There are no prohibited animal products or alcohol residues in Pepsi. Numerous scholars have found and declared Pepsi to be halal to consume despite not having halal certification.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts