Are Pop Tarts Halal?

pop tarts

Since 1964, Kellogg’s has manufactured and distributed the Pop-Tarts brand of toaster pastries, but Muslims are unable to eat them because they are not vegan or halal.

In North America, Kellogg’s Pop-Tarts are not halal-certified. Its ingredients, which include whey and gelatin from animals, make it inappropriate for both Muslims and vegans. Pop-Tarts are not halal except for plain unfrosted Pop-Tarts.

Why Are Pop Tarts Not Halal?

If you ask Kellogg’s directly they will respond by saying that none of their Pop-Tarts flavors is halal certified. Now if a product does not have a halal certification it does not mean that it is not halal.

We do need to check the ingredients to find out whether it is halal or not. Ingredients such as whey and gelatin are found mostly in these kinds of products. We need to make sure that whey and the gelatin found in the ingredients are vegan or halal and not from any animal source.

Noureen asked Kellogg’s about the gelatin they use in Pop Tarts and they replied:

“In the United States, the gelatin in Frosted Pop-Tarts® is derived from beef, and is used to help the texture of the product. Plain (unfrosted) Pop-Tarts® do not contain gelatin.

Gelatin derived from pork is found in the following in the U.S.:

Kellogg’s® cereal products that contain marshmallow additives (Marshmallow Froot Loops cereal)

All varieties of Rice Krispies Treats® Squares

Gelatin derived from beef is found in the following in the U.S.:

All varieties of Frosted Pop-Tarts®

All varieties of Frosted Mini-Wheats® cereal

All varieties of Rice Krispies Treats™ cereal

All varieties of Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies Treats™ Snap, Crackle, Poppers™

Some of our foods in the U.S. contain gelatin that is derived from either beef or pork; sourcing is based on availability in the marketplace. These include:

All Kellogg’s® fruit flavored snacks

All Krave Treat Bars

Please note that none of our equipment that comes in contact with the gelatin in Frosted Pop-Tarts® is used in the production of the other pastries. As a result, Plain (unfrosted) Pop-Tarts® do not contain gelatin. The pre-gelatinized wheat starch contained in some of our toaster pastries is derived from wheat and does not contain any gelatin.”


After this reply, the only Pop-Tarts there that do not contain gelatin are the plain Pop-Tarts. All the rest of the flavors have gelatin which comes either from beef or pork. Plain or unfrosted Pop-Tarts are vegan and halal in this context. Muslims can’t consume any other Pop-Tarts flavor.

READ NEXT: Is Trident Gum Halal Or Haram? [Is Trident Vegan?]

Ingredients Of Pop Tarts

Ingredients mentioned on their website for unfrosted Pop Tarts are:

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid)
  • Corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, dextrose
  • Soybean and palm oil (with TBHQ for freshness)
  • Bleached wheat flour
  • Contains 2% or less of wheat starch, salt, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate)
  • Citric acid
  • Dried pears, dried apples, dried strawberries
  • Caramel color, xanthan gum, modified wheat starch, soy lecithin, red 40, yellow 6


Unfrosted Pop-Tarts do not contain any haram ingredient so it’s safe to say Muslims can consume them. All other flavors include gelatin which is usually derived from pork or beef. In any case, animal-derived gelatin is prohibited for Muslims.

READ NEXT: Is Twix Halal Or Haram?


Do Pop-Tarts have Halal gelatin?

Kellogg’s states that their gelatin is derived from beef and pork which is haram for Muslims. No Pop-Tarts have halal gelatin.

Do Pop-Tarts have pork?

Unfrosted plain Pop-Tarts do not contain pork or gelatin but other flavors include pork-derived gelatin. Apart from plain Pop-Tarts, all others contain pork.

Is Pop-Tarts vegetarian?

The Unfrosted Strawberry, Blueberry, and Brown Sugar Cinnamon Pop-Tarts are both vegan and halal, in contrast to the majority of Pop-Tarts, which are not acceptable for vegans.

READ NEXT: Are Skittles Halal And Vegan?

Final Thoughts

All of the Pop-Tarts flavors include animal-based gelatin except the unfrosted plain Pop-Tarts. Gelatin from animals whether it is pork or beef is haram for Muslims. I will suggest only getting unfrosted Pop-Tarts if you are Muslim or vegan. Always read the ingredients for further confirmation.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts