Are Rice Krispies Halal?

rice krispies

Rice Krispies are typically made with marshmallows and gelatin. If you live in a non-Muslim country, you may be wondering if Rice Krispies are halal.

Depending on the ingredients, Rice Krispies can be halal or haram. The main ingredient, gelatin, may raise concerns. Rice Krispies are halal if the gelatin used is halal. Because most gelatin in North America is derived from pork, it is not halal.

Is Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Halal?

kelloggs rice krispies

Kellogg’s is the most well-known brand of Rice Krispies in North America. They will tell you that their Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are not halal certified if you ask. The majority of products in North America are not halal certified.

We are concerned that the gelatin used is derived from pork or beef. Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are halal if halal gelatin is used.

Pork gelatin is used in some Kellogg’s products, and beef gelatin in others. As for where they are used, they are not sure. There is no way to know for sure whether the gelatin used in the product we are buying is halal or haram, making it dubious.

When Muslims are in doubt and no clear answer seems to be there then it’s better to avoid such products. As pork gelatin can be used in Kellogg’s Rice Krispies they are considered haram or prohibited for Muslims.

READ NEXT: Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?

Ingredients Of Rice Krispies

The main ingredients found on the web are:

  • Rice
  • Sugar
  • Dextrose
  • Gelatin
  • Soy lecithin
  • Contains 2% or less of salt, malt flavor
  • Vitamins and Minerals: Iron (ferric phosphate), niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12.

The main concern here is the gelatin used. The majority of gelatin in North America is made from pork, which is haram. It is prohibited for Muslims to consume pork in any case, making Rice Krispies haram.

I suggest Muslims should always choose halal products. There are many halal manufacturers who make Rice Krispies and you won’t have any doubts about the product being haram.

READ NEXT: Are M&Ms Halal Or Haram?

Halal Rice Krispies

I have researched and found halal brands that manufacture Rice Krispies using fish or halal beef gelatin. Fish or halal beef gelatin makes the Rice Krispies halal and totally safe for Muslims to consume.

Halal Crispy Treats

A halal alternative to Rice Krispies is Barakat Foods’ Halal Crispy Treats. These snacks are made with 100% Halal gelatin. The marshmallows are also halal. You can check out their halal products on their website.

Annie’s Original Crispy Snack Bars

There is another halal Rice Krispies brand called Annie’s Crispy Snack Bars. The manufacturer uses all organic ingredients and the product is even vegan friendly. Any organic product which is vegan friendly is automatically halal as it does not contain any haram animal extract.

You can check out their products on their website.

READ NEXT: Is Deer Halal? [Can Muslims Hunt?]

How To Make Halal Rice Krispies At Home

You can always make halal Rice Krispies at home if you like. It’s fairly simple.


  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract 
  • 5 cups (~10 oz) miniature marshmallows (Ziyad Mini Halal Marshmallows)
  • 6 cups Rice Krispies (one 12.5 oz Kellogg’s Frosted Krispies package)


Is Rice Crispy Treats Haram?

Most of the Rice Krispies are haram as gelatin derived from pork is used mostly which is haram for Muslims. Some halal alternatives are found in the market. Do make sure to read the ingredients before buying Rice Krispies.

Do Rice Krispies have pork gelatin?

Gelatin produced from pigs is present in Kellogg’s cereal items which are haram for Muslims. They also use beef gelatin sometimes but no one is sure which product has beef or pork gelatin.

Is Kellogg’s Haram?

Normally Kellogg’s products are halal but some contain gelatin which is derived from pork making the product haram. Make sure to read the ingredients before buying any Kellogg’s item.

READ NEXT: Is Chick Fil A Halal? [Revealed]

Final Thoughts

Rice Krispies are mostly made with gelatin. Kellogg’s confirms that most gelatin in North America is derived from pork. It is forbidden for Muslims to eat Rice Krispies because they contain pork gelatin. As I already mentioned, Kellogg’s Rice Krispies can be substituted with some halal alternatives.

Always be careful to read the ingredients at the back of any Rice Krispies or just order the halal ones stated above which do not contain any haram component and are fully safe.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts