Is Butter Halal?


Since butter is made from milk, many people believe that it can only be Halal. Butter is among the dairy products that Muslims are allowed to eat. However, some butter could include animal fats or other ingredients that Muslims do not consider halal.

To make salted butter, the cream must be mechanically separated from cow’s milk and salt. All salted butter, regardless of brand, is therefore Halal. Lard, alcohol, whey butter, and pork gelatin are four haram ingredients that could make unsalted butter haram for Muslims.

When Is Butter Not Halal?

Butter was traditionally created by shaking pure cow’s milk, and the process was entirely halal. Today, however, milk alone is no longer the only ingredient in butter. Butter produced commercially comes with additional ingredients.

Mufti Ebrahim Desai approved this answer on butter being haram:

“In principal, mayonnaise and butter will be Halal (permissible) to consume as long as they do not contain any Haram (impermissible) ingredients or E-numbers.

An E-number that is used in some butters and mayonnaises’ is E441. This is gelatin and is also known as ‘gelfoam’ and ‘puragel’. The ruling for this E-number is that the gelatin from fish and correctly slaughtered (Halal) beef is considered Halal.Gelatin from pork is Haram.”


We’ll now go over each risk factor individually.


It is necessary to filter the cream from the milk. To separate the two liquids of differing densities, a very fine-pored strainer is required. The quality of the cream, which depends on how effectively these two substances are separated, determines the quality of the butter.

Gelatin can be derived from a wide range of animals, but it typically comes from pigs and calves, which is why creams must be halal-certified. Anything from pigs is not allowed for Muslims. Even if the Gelatin is derived from the calves it needs to be halal first.

There is a high risk and Muslims should abstain from using butter that involves gelatine or pork ingredients.


For butter to qualify as Halal, it must be manufactured with pasteurized sweet cream and lactic acid. However, food manufacturers occasionally add lactic acid and refer to it as a natural flavor. Natural flavoring is also created from starter distillate. Many brands of unsalted butter contain diacetyl in the starter distillate.

Starter distillate also has trace levels of acetaldehyde, ethyl formate, ethyl acetate, acetone, ethyl alcohol, 2-butanone, acetic acid, and acetone in addition to diacetyl. Since Starter Distillate contains a small percentage of alcohol, it is not regarded as Halal.


The cream that is produced from milk is used to make butter and cream from whey is occasionally used in this process.

Whey is a high-risk ingredient according to Muslim scholars because the protein might come from animals. If the whey used to manufacture butter is not halal, then the butter itself is also not halal.


Fat is added to low-fat butter to improve its flavor. Pig gelatine is frequently utilized. As we all know that pig gelatin is not halal, and the resulting butter is not allowed for Muslims to consume.

READ NEXT: Is Turkey Halal?

Halal Butter

A halal label is recommended for commercial butter, thus I advise you to stay away from it.

This is due to the possibility that risk elements, like pig gelatin, were used in the manufacturing process which will result in the butter being haram or not allowed for Muslims to consume.

You can search for salted butter that doesn’t have any issues with halal. Salted butter is always halal because it is only made with pure milk and no haram additives.

I have made a halal butter list for you:

  • Winn-Dixie Organic – ORGANIC SALTED BUTTER
  • Nature’s Basket – ORGANIC SALTED BUTTER
  • James Farms – BUTTER SALTED
  • Hannaford – BUTTER SALTED
  • America’s Choice – SWEET CREAM BUTTER-SALTED
  • Central Market Organic – ORGANIC SALTED BUTTER

READ NEXT: Is Shake Shack Halal?


What kind of butter is halal?

Salted butter is regarded as halal when it is made with cream and salt. Alcohol should not be used as a solvent in unsalted butter, and flavoring must be from a halal source.

Is butter from milk halal?

Salted butter is often regarded as halal because it is manufactured by separating salt from cow’s milk and no haram ingredient is involved.

Is clarified butter halal?

The Halal certification attests to the fact that it is suitable for consumption by Muslims and that no haram materials or practices were used in the production of its components.

Can Muslims use butter?

To make salted butter, the cream must be mechanically separated from cow’s milk and salt. Islam permits Muslims to consume salted butter of any brand because it is all Halal.

READ NEXT: Is Monster Energy Drink Halal?

Final Thoughts

If you are a Muslim living in North America or a non-Muslim country I will suggest always buying salted butter. Salted butter is always halal for Muslims as it never includes haram ingredients or any risk for Muslims.

Unsalted butter contains halal risks which have been discussed including whey, alcohol, lard, and gelatin. Kindly abstain from all unsalted butter until you find halal-certified unsalted butter. I have shared a list of halal butter above which might help.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts