Is Rabbit Halal?

is rabbit halal

Many societies see eating rabbits as a delicious and superior food source. People hunt rabbits in the woods for the pleasure of tasting their meat. The question arises whether Muslims can eat rabbit meat or it’s haram.

If you hunt and slaughter your rabbits in accordance with Islamic law, the meat is halal. Rabbit is not mentioned in the Quran, hence it is regarded as halal. Rabbit meat is viewed as halal in many hadiths as well.

Why Are Rabbits Halal?

Rabbits are halal and very delicious. There can be some people who might argue merely cause they don’t like to eat its meat. Halal for Muslims does not mean you have to eat it. Halal just means that you can consume it if you like. If you don’t want to eat rabbits just leave it. 

Reasons why rabbits are halal:

  • Quran did not mention rabbits
  • Hadith mentions rabbits as halal
  • In Hadith Prophet of Allah had rabbit meat
  • Rabbits eat grass and are not prey animals

READ NEXT: Is Mozzarella Cheese Halal?

Islam And Rabbits

Quran says:

Say, ˹O Prophet,˺ “I do not find in what has been revealed to me anything forbidden to eat except carrion, running blood, swine—which is impure—or a sinful offering in the name of any other than Allah. But if someone is compelled by necessity—neither driven by desire nor exceeding immediate need—then surely your Lord is All-Forgiving, Most Merciful.”


Muslims are forbidden by the Quran from eating blood, pork, and dead animals that have not been slaughtered. All animals are regarded as halal except those listed in the Quran as haram.

Rabbits are halal as long as they are slaughtered by a Muslim in the name of Allah (God) and the blood is allowed to drain; the Quran makes no mention of them.

Fatwa No: 84598 on eating rabbits:

“Basically all animals are Halal except those that are made unlawful in Shari’a.
The Hadith establishes a rule concerning the birds and animals that are Haram, the Hadith reads: “Eating of all fanged beasts of prey, and all the birds having talons is forbidden” . [Reported by Imam Muslim ]. Therefore, eating a rabbit is permissible, and it is proved in Sahihain that “The Prophet (Sallallahu Alaihi wa Sallam) and his companions ate its meat” .
Rabbit is Halal and no one from Muslim scholars opposed this ruling.”


In the following hadith Prophet of Allah, peace be upon him, himself accepted rabbit’s meat:

“The famous companion Anas (may Allah be pleased with him) narrates, “We chased a rabbit whilst we were at Marr al-Ẓahrān and the people ran after it but were exhausted. I caught it, and brought it to Abū Ṭalhah who slaughtered it and sent both its hips, or he said, both its thighs to the Prophet (peace be upon him) who accepted it” (Ṣaḥīḥ al-Bukhārī, 5535).”


As there is no greater human authority in Islam than the Prophet of Allah, the rabbit is surely halal if he accepted the meat.

Muslims should always make sure that rabbits were slaughtered properly according to the law. If you are sure a rabbit is slaughtered then Islam allows you to have rabbit’s meat.

READ NEXT: Is Tyson Chicken Halal?


Are hares halal?

Hares are allowed and halal in Islam as far as they are slaughtered properly according to Islamic law.

Are rabbit pets allowed in Islam?

Yes, you are allowed to keep rabbits as pets. Quran or hadith don’t mention anything regarding it.

What does a rabbit eat?

Rabbits mostly eat grass and raw vegetables. They are animals of prey and don’t prey on other animals.

Do rabbits eat meat?

No, rabbits are vegetarians. They only eat grass and vegetables.

Are rabbits healthy to eat?

They are all-white meat that is healthy. Rabbit meat is lean, low in cholesterol, and contains high-quality proteins.

READ NEXT: Is Vanilla Extract Halal?

Final Thoughts

Rabbits are delicious and a treat in some cultures. They are totally halal as they are mentioned in a hadith where the Prophet of Allah accepted the rabbit’s meat. On the other hand, they are nowhere mentioned in the Quran as haram.

Muslims should just make sure that rabbits are slaughtered properly by a Muslim in the name of Allah (God) and that all its blood was drained out. Rabbits are 100% halal and allowed in Islam to consume.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts