Are Oreos Halal?

are oreos halal

Oreos are one of the world’s most popular cookies. Muslims, like any other children, enjoy them with milk. On the internet, someone always asks whether something is halal or haram for Muslims. Let us inspect.

If you ask Oreos, they will tell you they are not halal certified in US and Canada. That doesn’t mean they’re not halal. It simply means they haven’t invested in halal certification. They do state that Oreos contain no animal products or pork.

That Halal Guy perfectly describes it in this video:

Are Oreo Biscuits Halal?

Someone asked Oreo about them being halal or haram and they replied with the following tweet:

Oreo also stated that, while the official product is not Halal, it contains no pork or animal ingredients.

According to the company, Oreo cookies do contain alcohol. When they use vanilla extract, they put the presence of vanilla in the product in the profiles, but due to the presence of alcohol in a trace amount, it is not mentioned on the packaging.

Oreo claims that none of its products contain any animal products or pork. As far as Muslims are concerned, this is fine. The final product has a minimal amount of alcohol as well, according to Oreo.

So far, Oreo appears to be halal for Muslims to consume. To be sure, we will investigate all of the ingredients further.

READ NEXT: Is Chipotle Halal? [Revealed]

Ingredients Of Oreo

ingredients of oreo

Oreo. (2022, September 22). In Wikipedia.

Ingredients mentioned:

  • Sugar
  • Unbleached enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mono-nitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2), folic acid)
  • High oleic canola oil or palm oil
  • Cocoa (treated with alkali)
  • High-fructose corn syrup
  • Leavening agent (baking soda or monocalcium phosphate)
  • Corn starch
  • Salt
  • Soy lecithin
  • Vanillin
  • Chocolate

We investigated all of the ingredients and discovered no haram substances that Muslims should consume. The ingredients indicate that Oreo is halal, but it is not halal certified.

READ NEXT: Are Pop Tarts Halal?

Are Oreos Vegan?

are oreos vegan

According to Oreo, their products do not contain any animal ingredients or pork. Aside from that, they claim that Oreo products are vegetarian-friendly.

In their FAQ section, I found out that they claim Oreos as veggie-friendly and further also answers by saying that Oreos are not suitable for vegans. This confuses most people who are on a vegan diet. [source]

This is because some of the Oreo products are vegetarian-friendly and some contain milk that is not suitable for vegans.

I have made a list of all the vegan Oreo products:

  • Oreo
  • Double Stuff Oreo
  • Mega Stuff Oreo
  • Golden Oreo
  • Gluten-Free Oreo
  • Brookie-O (Limited Edition)
  • Chocolate Hazelnut
  • Java Chip Flavored Creme
  • Mint Oreo
  • Birthday Cake Oreo
  • Chocolate Oreo
  • Dark Chocolate Oreo
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie Oreo
  • Peanut Butter Oreo
  • Carrot Cake Oreo
  • Chocolate Marshmallow Oreo
  • Caramel Coconut Oreo
  • Lemon Oreo
  • Toffee Crunch

Non-vegan Oreo:

  • Fudge covered
  • Fudge dipped

Despite the fact that some vegans aren’t bothered by the possibility of trace amounts of milk, we cannot be sure if the Oreo we’re eating is entirely vegan.

My suggestion will be to stay away from the Oreo fudge-covered and Oreo fudge-dipped cookies as they contain milk.

READ NEXT: Is Trident Gum Halal Or Haram? [Is Trident Vegan?]


Can Muslims Have Oreos?

Oreo biscuits made in the United States and Canada are not Halal certified, but their ingredients or manufacturing process do not make them haram for Muslims.

Where Is Oreo Halal?

Oreo is halal in all Muslim countries that practice the halal lifestyle.

Are Oreos Haram US?

Oreos are not halal certified. Although all the ingredients indicate that they are halal for Muslims to consume.

Does Oreo Contain Alcohol?

Oreo cookies are made with ingredients that do not contain any alcohol or animal extracts, making them ideal for vegetarians.

Does Oreo Have Gelatin?

The cookies do not contain any animal products such as gelatin, although they are most likely not vegetarian as some Oreo products contain milk.

READ NEXT: Is Twix Halal Or Haram?

Final Thoughts

Although not halal certified in the Us and Canada Oreos are still halal for Muslims as they do not contain any animal extracts or pork. The final product also does not contain any alcohol which can make you drunk.

Some Oreo products however contain milk and I recommend checking the ingredients if you are vegan. For Muslims all Oreo products are halal.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts