Is Chick Fil A Halal? [Revealed]

chick fil a

Chick Fil A is one of the most well-known fast-food restaurants in North America. For various reasons, the owners have not expanded it outside. Muslims in the United States and Canada want to know if it is halal.

The simple answer is no. Chick-fil-A is not halal, and they do not serve halal chicken or meat-based dishes. Other dishes without meat will be halal for Muslims to eat.

You can watch the following video by Halal Run for the answer as well.

Why Is Chick Fil A Not Halal?

halal chick fil a

When Chick Fil A first opened in 1967, Truett Cathy wanted the name to reflect the high quality that customers should expect every time they visited a restaurant. That’s why he went with Chick-fil-A: “Chick” to represent their menu item, and “fil-A” as a play on the word “fillet”.

Some Chick Fil A franchises began serving halal food in 2015. This quickly gained popularity among many Muslims in North America. Later, many other Chick Fil A locations began serving halal food, including one in Texas.

We discovered that Chick Fil A relied on a number of vendors for their chicken supply. Although the majority of those vendors were halal, not all of them provided halal meat.

Apart from that, Chick Fil A never distinguished between the halal and haram chicken. As a result, all of the chicken from various vendors was combined and served together.

This is the most serious concern, and if haram is mixed with halal, it is still haram for Muslims to consume.

If you ask them directly, they will respond vaguely, “we have halal vendors as well.” They simply ask franchisees to choose which vendors they want.

It raises more concerns for Muslims because the halal and haram chicken is mixed together, making it impossible for them to determine which is not prohibited for Muslims.

When in doubt Islam asks Muslims to avoid such foods and drinks and Chick Fil A will be considered not halal.

READ NEXT: Are Oreos Halal?

Can Muslims Eat Chick Fil A?

chick fil a halal

As discussed earlier the chicken served at Chick Fil A is not halal so Muslims can’t consume it. But this does not mean that they can’t enjoy other dishes. All the items served at Chick Fil A does not include chicken or any animal products.

If any menu item at Chick Fil A does not include chicken or meat it will be considered halal. I have made a list of the halal Chick Fil A menu items:

  • Fruit cup
  • Side salads
  • Hash browns
  • English muffin
  • Waffle potato chips
  • Waffle cut potato chips

Furthermore, you can always go to your nearest Chick Fil A location and inquire about halal food, as things are constantly changing and there may come a day when they serve real halal chicken as well.

You can also check their menu before visiting their location at Chick Fil A.

READ NEXT: Is Chipotle Halal? [Revealed]

What Religion Base Is Chick-Fil-A?

Chick-Fil-A is founded on the Christian faith. Because the owner is a Christian, Chick Fil A is usually closed on Sundays. The owner requested that the employees take the day off for prayer.

Besides that, the restaurant’s headquarters is decorated with religious artwork such as Bible quotes and crosses. This demonstrates the family’s strong Christian beliefs. The owner also made certain that the business was not made public.


Is Chick-Fil-A a religious company?

Chick Fil A creator S. Truett Cathy is a devout Christian who has taught Sunday School for over 51 years and whose religious beliefs are still felt throughout the company.

What does Chick-fil-A stand for?

“Chick” represents the signature menu item chicken, and “fil-A” is a slight twist on the word “fillet.”

What was Chick-fil-A’s original name?

Cathy founded the company in 1946, when he and his brother, Ben, named it The Dwarf Grill.

Why does Chick Fil A take Sundays off?

The importance of closing on Sundays was defined by the owner so that he and his employees could set aside one day to rest and worship if they so desired.

READ NEXT: Are Pop Tarts Halal?

Final Thoughts

Although some Chick Fil A might advertise as serving halal food they are not entirely halal. Most of the locations mix halal chicken with haram one and it’s impossible to track which one is halal.

Islam suggests avoiding any food or drinks that you have doubts about. In that light, Chick Fil A is not halal. Muslims can enjoy all the dishes at Chick Fil A that don’t include chicken or any haram ingredient.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts