Is KitKat Halal?

is kitkat halal

KitKat is currently one of the most popular chocolates in the world. Muslims in North America and other parts of the world frequently wonder if KitKat is halal or haram.

As KitKat contains no haram ingredients, which are prohibited by Muslims, it is halal and completely safe to eat. There is no Halal certification for KitKat in North America, but that does not mean it is not halal.

Why Is KitKat Halal?

We tried to find out about the status of KitKat being halal and there are two ways to get the answer. First is if KitKat provides the information themselves. Secondly, if we can analyze the ingredients used to manufacture KitKat and figure out the halal status ourselves.

KitKat’s Information On Being Halal

If you will ask KitKat regarding the product being halal certified they will reply with a no. Most of the manufacturers in North America don’t apply for halal certification.

Halal certification is a certification that Muslim organizations provide to certain products after reviewing and checking the ingredients involved and the making. Although it never means that if the product is not halal certified it is not halal for Muslims.

We found a tweet of KitKat themselves saying that KitKat is suitable for halal consumers.

This tweet from them is our first issuance that KitKat is halal and suitable to be consumed by Muslims.

Ingredients Of KitKat

Secondly, we will look closely and find out if there are any haram ingredients used to make KitKat ourselves.

Ingredients [source]:

  • Sugar
  • Wheat Flour
  • Skim Milk
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Chocolate
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm Kernel Oil, Palm Oil)
  • Milk Fat
  • Lactose
  • Contains 2% or Less of Lecithin, PGPR, Vanillin, Salt, Yeast, Baking Soda

We found no haram ingredients, which raises a red flag. KitKat is halal as far as the ingredients are concerned.

READ NEXT: Are Rice Krispies Halal?

What do Muslim Scholars say About KitKat?

Apart from our own analysis we also should look up to the Muslim scholars who possess a far better knowledge of Islamic principles. Someone asked about KitKat containing ethyl alcohol and if it was halal.

Shaikh gave a fatwa on this:

“First: a very large group of contemporary scholars held that alcohol which causes intoxication is classified as Khamr (intoxicant), and accordingly it is impermissible for Muslims to consume it.

Second: not all substances that are classified as alcohol by chemists are intoxicant merely because they fall into this category.”


The Muslim scholar here states the fact that if something is changed during the manufacturing process it is completely different with different properties. As in this case, the alcohol may have been used but in the end, there is none found in the final product so it can’t be haram.

Moreover, he says that for a product to be haram the alcohol present should be enough to make the consumer drunk or intoxicated. In the case of KitKat, the alcohol the final product contains is negligible to none.

No amount of KitKat consumption can result in intoxication hence it is halal.

READ NEXT: Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?


Can Muslims have Kit Kat?

Yes, Muslims can eat KitKat as it is totally halal with all the safe ingredients allowed for Muslim consumption.

Is Kit Kat UK halal?

Yes, they themselves have said that their KitKat is halal suitable. This means that all the ingredients used to manufacture KitKat are halal and no issue with the Islamic guidelines.

Is Japanese Kit Kat halal?

KitKat products manufactured in Japan are not halal certified but we didn’t find any haram ingredients used in the manufacturing process making KitKat halal.

Is there alcohol in KitKat?

KitKat is a nonalcoholic candy. Although alcohol may be utilized in the production process, the finished product does not include it. KitKat does not contain enough alcohol to make you drunk.

READ NEXT: Is Alligator Halal?

Final Thoughts

Although KitKat is not halal certified, none of the ingredients used to make KitKat is haram or prohibited. KitKat themselves stated that their product is suitable for halal consumers. Muslim scholars also agree that KitKat is allowed for Muslims.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts