Is Nutella Halal?

is nutella halal

We are all familiar with Nutella and its delicious chocolate spreads. Both adults and children adore and use their products. We’ll talk about whether Nutella is halal or haram because there was a stir when the company themselves claimed that it wasn’t.

Actually composed primarily of plant-based materials and milk, Nutella is halal. The business meant that when it claimed to be non-halal, it was not halal-certified.

Controversy On Twitter

controversy on twitter

The guy on Twitter asked Nutella whether it is halal or not. In reply, Nutella replied that it’s not halal. A Nestle product known as Nutella is consumed by billions of people worldwide including Muslims.

Muslims both supported and opposed it on Twitter, and it quickly gained popularity. When asked what they meant by “not halal,” Nutella said that they meant that their product is not halal-certified.

Nutella tweeted:

“All Nutella sold worldwide is suitable for Halal consumption. Over 90% of the industrial plants producing Nutella are already Halal certified by a third party and we are in the process of certifying the remaining plants. We apologize for the mistake made in our earlier tweet.”


READ NEXT: Are Eggs Halal?

Ingredients Of Nutella

ingredients of nutella

It is halal because it only has 7 ingredients and lacks coloring, preservatives, and hydrogenated fats.

  • Sugar
  • Palm Oil
  • Hazelnuts (13%)
  • Skimmed Milk Powder (8.7%)
  • Fat-Reduced Cocoa (7.4%)
  • Emulsifier: Lecithins (Soya)
  • Vanillin

READ NEXT: Is Beef Jerky Halal?

Halal Certified Nutella

In my research, I have found a Turkish Nutella website as well which claims it’s halal certified.

“halal certificate

Our products produced in our facilities, including Nutella, have Halal Food Certificate. Halal food means food produced in accordance with Islamic rules. All foods are considered halal except for the following products that are declared as haram:

• Pork/pork meat and products made from them.

• Animals that are slaughtered without following Islamic procedures or animals that die before slaughter.

• Carnivores, hunted birds, and land animals with no external ears.

• Blood and products made from blood.

• Wine, ethyl alcohol and spirits, alcohol and all intoxicants.

• Products that come into contact with any of the products described above.

In addition, gelatin, glycerin, enzymes, animal fat and proteins are identified as suspicious because they do not know the source.

Nutella does not contain any of the foods described above. For this reason, our product has Halal Food certificate.”


READ NEXT: Are Pringles Halal? [List Of Haram Pringles]


Is Nutella hazelnut halal?

Yes, Nutella Hazelnut is totally halal. All the ingredients used are halal. It is just not halal certified but halal and safe for Muslims to consume.

Is there pork in Nutella?

There is no pork in Nutella. Hazelnuts and almonds that have been dry-roasted are combined with cocoa powder, cocoa butter, palm oil, and sugar to make this spread. You get the traditional Nutella flavor in combination with the assurance that it is vegan.

Is Nutella vegetarian?

They mention sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, milk, chocolate, lecithin (soy), and vanillin as the main ingredients. As a result, Nutella is suitable for vegetarians.

Is Nutella Kosher?

Yes, under the direction of the Orthodox Union’s Kashruth Division, Nutella has received a Kosher certification.

READ NEXT: Is Pepsi Halal?

Final Thoughts

Nutella is totally halal and 100% safe for Muslims to consume. Turkish Nutella site confirms it plus the main Nutella website proves that Nutella is halal just not halal certified. All the ingredients used are halal.

And Allah Knows Best.

Similar Posts