Are Sour Patch Kids Halal?

are sour patch kids halal

Yesterday, as I was shopping in a general supermarket, I noticed a shelf stocked with Sour Patch Kids candy and I immediately began to question if they were halal or haram.

In North America, Sour Patch Kids are not halal-certified, I’m not sure about other nations. However, since all of the components are vegan and halal, it is still halal.

If you ask the company about sour patch kids they say that it does not have halal certification. But does it make it not halal? It all depends on the ingredients and we will have to investigate it further.

When it comes to sweets, we should examine the ingredients to see if any gelatin or other prohibited materials are present.

Ingredients Of Sour Patch Kids

Sugar, Invert Sugar Syrup, Corn Syrup, Modified Corn Starch, Preservative (E270), Acidity Regulators (Tartaric Acid, Citric Acid), Natural and Artificial Flavour, Colours (E129, E133, E102, E110).

Mainly in the ingredients, we look for either animal-derived gelatin or any haram product such as pork enzymes. Gelatin is usually derived from animals such as beef or pork so it’s not halal. We can’t find any pork-derived ingredients or gelatin as you can see.

Note that sour patch kids are not halal certified although they are vegan certified meaning no haram animal is involved in the manufacturing.

We also look for alcohol-related ingredients that might make something haram for Muslims. Ingredients don’t show any sign of those too so sour patch kids are halal.

READ NEXT: Are Takis Chips Halal?

What Muslim Scholars Say About Sour Patch Kids

Someone curious asked Moulana Muddasser Dhedhy​ about the halal status of sour patch kids and he replied:

Sour Patch Kids are a soft candy with a coating of invert sugar and sour sugar. They are usually made in the forms of figures which resemble humans with faces, hands and feet.

If they are made from halal ingredients, they will be halal to consume. However, it is makrooh (disliked) to eat items made into the form of humans or any animate object.[1]

Only Allah Ta’ala knows best.


As we found nothing haram in the ingredients we can safely derive that sour patch kids are halal although some might say that it is makruh or disliked. Makrooh is Islam means that it’s okay to consume it but it’s recommended not to.

Now at this point, I leave it to you to decide whether you want to eat sour patch kids or not. One thing is that they are halal.

READ NEXT: Is Bubble Tea Halal? [READ Before Drinking It]

Is Sour Patch Kids Vegan?

We researched all the ingredients and we never found anything related to animals. The business lists sugar, citric acid, corn and glucose syrup, modified cornstarch, titanium dioxide, and artificial and natural flavours.

These are not animal-derived ingredients and sour patch kids is also vegan certified as well.


Does Sour Patch Kids Contain Gelatin?

Gelatin is the only ingredient present in candies which is derived from the bones of animals. It can be beef or pork which will make the candy haram. You can know there is no gelatin in Sour Patch Kids candies by carefully reading the ingredients list.

Does Sour Patch Kids Contain Gluten?

No, gluten is not present in sour patch kids.
None of the components on the list is gluten-based or contains gluten.

READ NEXT: Is Chocolate Liquor Halal?

Final Thoughts

After a thorough investigation I found sour patch kids to be gluten-free, gelatin-free, no pork is involved, no alcohol, and it’s all vegan which makes them halal.

Although some scholars say that it is disliked in Islam to eat such candies cause of their shape. It’s okay to eat them but not suggested by Islam.

And Allah Knows Best.

READ NEXT: Is Popeyes Halal In USA And Canada?

Similar Posts